Filing a police report after any car accident is a good idea. Even if you do not think you are injured at the time, you could quite possibly discover days or even weeks later that the accident did more damage than you originally thought. Delayed injuries like whiplash are common after an auto accident, meaning you might feel fine at the accident scene only to wake up in pain the next day. In situations like this, the police report can be a crucial piece of evidence documenting what happened and who was at fault.
Aside from being a smart move in general, Wisconsin state law makes filing a police report after a crash mandatory in some circumstances. Failing to report a crash that meets mandatory reporting criteria could land you in legal trouble. If you were involved in a car accident, it is better to call an attorney sooner rather than later so the evidence preservation procedures can begin promptly.
When Does Wisconsin Require a Police Report for a Car Crash?
When crashes are minor, causing no injury and minimal damage to the vehicles, some drivers prefer to simply go on their way without reporting the accident. There may be a handshake deal involving money to fix a scuff or dent. In Wisconsin, you are required to call the police and file an accident report if the crash caused:
- Over $1,000 damage – If a personal vehicle was involved, the crash must be reported if it caused more than $1,000 worth of damage to a person’s vehicle or other property. For example, the $1,000 in damage could be to a person’s fence or home if a driver ran off the road and onto someone’s property.
- Over $200 damage – If the crash damaged any government property other than a vehicle, it must be reported if there was more than $200 in damages – which is almost always the case.
- Injury – Any auto accident that injures a person has to be reported. Even if the injuries are minor, or you believe they are minor at the time, you must report the crash.
Guessing the dollar value of damages on the side of the road when you are already shaken up by the accident is tricky. When you are experiencing a post-crash adrenaline rush, it can act as a natural pain reliever and make injuries harder to notice immediately. If you are ever uncertain, file the report.
Call a Wisconsin Auto Accidents Attorney
If you were hurt in a car accident, you should call a qualified Green Bay car accidents attorney as soon as possible after the crash. Herrling Clark Law Firm Ltd. is committed to recovering compensation for injured victims of driver negligence. Evidence is lost quickly in car crash cases as both vehicles are promptly moved, and repairs may begin immediately. Other evidence at the accident scene can be quickly lost to cleanup crews or inclement weather. Contact us at 920-739-7366 to schedule your free consultation as soon as you are able to.